I gots a J O B

Well, I guess I was on a roll for a while, but as usual, I faltered. But it’s okay. I’ve been busy. On March 3rd, I started a new job. It doesn’t feel like a job, which is why I enjoy it so much, and I really don’t consider it a job, since I can be my own boss and make my own hours. In fact, it’s the kind of job that is both perfect for someone with ADHD, and possibly the worst thing for someone with ADHD who has accountability problems when it comes to sticking with something.

I drive for a ride-share company. I take my Chevy Traverse out into the world and fill it with strangers. Some are students, some are soldiers, some are families, tourists, business men and women. Some are just regular people trying to get to work. Some are drunks, trying to get home from the bar, or the party. Some throw up in my car.

But mostly, driving strangers around in my car is just fun. I can do it here in town, where ride-sharing is new, or I can go to the much larger city nearby and make way more money. Either way, I meet people from all different walks of life. They ask me about me and I ask them about them, and we have, on average, about a ten minute conversation, make a few jokes, make a few connections, then tell each other to be safe and to have a good day, and we part ways. Sometimes, here in town, I get a repeat customer, and I ask them how they’ve been. Some really like me, or my car. Some are quiet, maybe after a long day at work, and just want to ride in peace. I try to accommodate the best I can.

Looking at this without the ADHD classification, it might not seem all that rewarding or fun. It’s hard for me to imagine how I would have viewed this before knowing about my diagnosis. But through the scope of ADHD, I see this job as perfect. It stays unpredictable enough to keep me from getting bored. I can take days off as I choose. If I have a bad experience, I can shut off the app and go home. If I start feeling bored, I can go to another part of town. But when I go to the big city, there is no time for boredom! I can make back-to-back trips from sunup to sundown. On Saturday, I made $200, and I did it again on Sunday. By the end of the week, made a total of about $13.50/hour, and worked almost a full 40 hours. I can work as many hours as I like, or as few. So what does this have to do with ADHD? Well, everything and nothing. I know, I make no sense, but in fairness, I forgot my second dose of Adderall today. In that department, though, things are going pretty well. I take 10 mg in the morning, and 5 mg six hours later, and I get through the day, and I sleep at night. After being out of the house and driving for about 12 hours on Saturday, and maybe 14 hours Sunday, I was feeling pretty sore. So there are nights that I take a Flexoril to help me sleep through the sore muscles. After taking Monday and Tuesday off, I’m feeling better, although I could use a little more sleep. But, alas, life happens.

What I am trying to say is that I think I have found a happy dosing schedule. I forgot my second dose today, but I didn’t really need it. We had a relaxing day at home, playing with the baby and doing pretty much nothing. But the days that I drive, the Adderall is perfect. When I start to fell draggy and bored in the afternoon, that second dose puts me back into action. Without it, I think that driving all those connecting interstates would be intolerable. I have always hated driving in big cities. On ramps, off ramps, merge, change lanes, drive faster, drive slower, traffic jams…. Ugh!

But with the medication, and proper planning (no driving during rush-hour), I take it all in stride, and can actually carry on conversation while I drive. Thanks to good navigation programs, I can get to where I’m going with little hassle. I’m not saying it always goes smoothly. I have had 11 people give me fewer than 5 stars, and it hurts. But I have had 163 people rate me with 5 stars! And that feels fantastic! People compliment my car, they thank me, and most of the time they’re just a joy to have in my car. Sometimes I make mistakes. Sometimes I can’t find the rider right away, and meeting up can be troublesome. Sometimes I have a hard time navigating the downtown area when it’s really busy and there are a lot of pedestrians. Sometimes I cut people off because I see the rider at the last second. But I always check my mirrors and blind spots, and I can still say that I have not had an accident in the 20 years that I’ve been driving. However, I do understand that the more I drive, and the more risks I take, the more likely it is to happen. I continue to use what I consider my best judgement. A car can be as lethal as any weapon, and must be used with great care. Sometimes I worry that I put too much faith in other drivers. I would hate me if I was another driver. But I digress…

So I’m making more money than I was as a department manager at a giant, corporate, department store. I make my own hours, so I never have to miss an appointment. I can use my gas receipts, car wash receipts, and other driving-related expenses as tax write-offs. That is good, because they do not withhold any taxes from my pay. I get paid weekly. Sometimes I make tips. I get discounts for being a driver. If I get overwhelmed, I can take as much time off as I want. I helped a fellow mommy (who I referred as a driver in another state) and she makes WAY more money than I do. But my favorite thing is how it all makes me feel. I feel great about helping my other mommy-driver-friend make a ton of money (her tips are scandalously amazing). I feel great about driving people home who have no business driving under the influence. I feel like I’m keeping the streets safer for everyone. I like that I can help single-car families with their shopping or errands. I love that I can get people to the airport on time, or pick them up from the airport and get them to a hotel with zero-hassle. Last week, there was a guy walking to his sister’s house, trying to get there before the bus dropped off his nieces. When he realized he wasn’t going to make it, he downloaded the app and requested a ride. I got him there just as the girls were getting off the bus. Do you know how that felt? It felt great! I helped him and those little girls. One night I was driving people home from the bar, and it was rainy and foggy and visibility was almost zero. I got everyone home safely, while other people were taking out power poles. I feel like a freaking miracle worker. I love it!

Now all I have to do is get my husband working again. See you next time, kids.

Leave a Reply

